George Mason Law Review 17th Annual Antitrust Symposium, February 13, 2014


Thursday, February 13

All sessions held at Le Méridien Arlington

7:30 - 8:30 am


Registration and Breakfast, Vivace Foyer, 4th Floor

8:30 - 8:45 am


Welcome and Introduction


Daniel D. Polsby, Professor of Law and Dean, George Mason University School of Law
Henry N. Butler, George Mason Foundation Professor of Law and Executive Director, Law & Economics Center
Matthew S. Wheatley, Symposium Editor, George Mason Law Review

8:45 - 9:15 am


Opening Keynote Address


The Honorable Edith RamirezChairwoman, Federal Trade Commission

9:15 - 10:30 am


Panel One: Intellectual Property and Antitrust


The Honorable Maureen K. Ohlhausen, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
John "Jay" JurataPartner, Orrick, Herrington & Suttcliffe LLP
C. Scott Hemphill, Professor of Law, Columbia Law School

Moderator: James C. Cooper, Director, Research and Policy, Law & Economics Center and Lecturer in Law, George Mason University School of Law

10:45 - 12:00 pm


Panel Two: Mergers


William BlumenthalPartner, Sidley Austin LLP
Chetan Sanghvi, Senior Vice President, NERA Economic Consulting
George S. Cary, Partner, Cleary Gottlieb Steen & Hamilton LLP

Moderator: The Honorable Douglas H. Ginsburg, Senior Judge, United States Court of Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit; Professor of Law, George Mason University School of Law

12:00 - 1:45 pm


LuncheonVivace Room


Keynote Panelists:
Jon D. LeibowitzPartner, David Polk & Wardwell LLP
Timothy J. Muris, Of Counsel, Kirkland & Ellis LLP; George Mason University Foundation Professor, George Mason University School of Law
James C. Miller III, Senior Advisor, Husch Blackwell LLP 

Moderator: William C. MacLeod, Partner, Kelley Drye & Warren LLP

2:00 - 3:15 pm


Panel Three: State and Professional Restraints


The Honorable Julie Brill, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
Todd J. Zywicki, George Mason University School of Law
Thomas G. Krattenmaker, Formerly Professor, Georgetown University Law Center and Formerly Dean, William & Mary Law School
Harry First, Charles L. Denison Professor of Law, Director of the Competition, Innovation, and Information Law Program, New York Univeristy School of Law

Moderator: James C. Cooper, Director, Research and Policy, Law & Economics Center and Lecturer in Law, George Mason University School of Law

3:30 - 4:45 pm


Panel Four: Section 5 Policy


The Honorable Joshua D. Wright, Commissioner, Federal Trade Commission
Sharis A. Pozen, Partner, Skadden, Arps, Slate, Meagher & Flom LLP
Justin "Guz" Hurwitz, Assistant Professor of Law, University of Nebrasksa College of Law
Carl W. Hittinger, Partner, DLA Piper and Co-Chair, US Antitrust and Trade Regulation Group

Moderator: Bruce McCulloch, Partner, Freshfields Bruchkaus Ceringer

4:45 - 5:00


Closing Remarks

5:00 pm